Reasons for blogging: ‘brought closer together by the details of daily life’ (rise of the blog people part I)

For about a year and half now, I’ve sat on the fence when it came to writing a blog (I would consider myself an avid reader of blogs). I though it best to leave writing to the gurus of my field (thank you to: Richard Ackerman, Paul Walk, Seb Schmoller, Lorcan Dempsey, Eric Duval, Peter Murray, Bryan Kelley and many more who have moved my learning along immensely). I think there was still somewhere inside of me that saw David Gorman (head of the ALA) as a person worth listening too (well he still is every now and again), as I didn’t want to be another “blog person”. This has caused me to think about the meta-reasons for why we should all be blogging (as I don’t think anyone should just write their random thoughts down at the end of each day, i.e. mySpace, Facebook, etc), here are some of my thoughts:

Blog Read Reasons:

  1. I don’t read a newspaper anymore except the free ones I’m given at Tube Stations (less random news filling up the synapses of my brain)
  2. I feel closer to the community of my occupation (whatever that is: info architect I think?)
  3. I have greater respect for initiatives being handed down from Government and Umbrella Orgs because I’ve watched ideas develop in a network of minds.
  4. I’m not trapped by the boundaries of my institution (their are other innovators desperate to move things along in these changing times)
  5. It feels like a am part of this rapidly changing world, especially when you see people form nodes around a particular idea.

Blog Write Reasons:

  1. Structured informality. Yes I do want to regurgitate the numerous ideas that my head has been filled with at the end of the day, but I want to put them down in a structured way that feels light and breezy.
  2. I like writing words paragraphs not just code (no matter how clean or human readable it is).
  3. Supporting other people’s ideas (w/ attribution) is essential for all scholarly processes and blogs make it even easier (perhaps even their primary pedagogical ethos)
  4. Blogging must replace forwarding.
  5. Because it creates trust (most of the blogs are by people who I don’t personally know, however they are real people to me that I listen to with respect). I hope my written blog can help create this trust.

Of course, there are many more reasons, but I’m primarily laying this out to make the structuring of my blog transparent to people. It will also be a nice place to come back to so I can add more reasons why blogging is valuable as a learning process (a reason that needs to be added to my list). And of course, I’m hoping to gain some of your blogging wisdom in your comments below:

~ by dfflanders on March 19, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
